Indian Society for Medical Statistics

Minutes of the Governing Council (GC) Meeting held during 38th Annual National Conference (ISMSCON-2020)

The Governing Council meeting agenda - 2020

Virtual Platform

Date: December 9, 2020, Time: 5:30PM to 6:30PM

- 1. Welcome by President
- 2. Approval of minutes of the 2019 GC & GB meetings
- 3. Report of General Secretary
- 4. Report of Treasurer
- 5. Report of Editor
- 6. Report of Web co-ordinator
- 7. Award committee report
- 8. Nomination committee report
- 9. Search committee reports
- 10. FSMS committee report
- 11. Arrangements for the 2020 annual conference
- 12. Thanking the retiring EC members and council functionaries
- 13. Welcoming new President
- 12. Any other point with the permission of the chair
- 13. Vote of thanks by General Secretary

1. Welcome

President, Prof. P.Venkatesan, welcomed the members of the GC Subsequently General Secretary, Prof. N Sreekumaran Nair took over agenda items one by one, as enlisted above.

2. Confirmation of the Minutes of the Previous GC & GB Meetings 2019

The GB unanimously accepted and approved minutes of the GC and GB meetings held during 37th annual conference at AllMS, Patna.

3. Report of the General Secretary

Prof. N. Sreekumaran Nair presented report of various activities, undertaken by the Society during the year 2020. Copies of the report were also circulated among the members. Salient features of the report were are as follows.

a. General communication to the members

Communicating with members- announcement, notifications of the society, various news items like conference, workshops, vacancies etc. which are relevant for the members, and other similar items to society members time to time.

b. Enrolment of new members

24 new life members have been enrolled.

ISMS membership certificate have been sent to all new members.

c. Updating membership list

Secretariat has updated membership list and all attempts have been made to update e-mail IDs in google group. At present we have nearly 725 e-mail IDs in google group and nearly one thousand life members of the society.

d. Providing materials for web updating

Draft Minutes of GC and GB, and copies of general communication for members etc.

e. Responding to the notification of National medical commission

High power committee and secretariat represented to the NMC. NMC partially modified the notification. However we have to further persuade NMC.

f. Mementoes, certificates and Cash award for the last years awardees.

We have decided to honor the recipient during the 2021 annual conference.

g. Exploring location for 2021 annual conference

Still in progress, suggestions welcome.

h. Planning and implementing 2020 annual conference

One Key note address, Oration, Two workshops, four plenary talks, Prof.RN Srivastava award presentation and 10 contributory sessions which include 73 papers.

4. Report of the Treasurer

Dr. B Binukumar, Treasurer, presented the audited report of the Society for the financial year 2019-2020. Copies of the report were also circulated among the members.

GC approved the report of the Treasurer.

5. Report of the Editor

Prof. K. Thennarasu, ISMS Bulletin Editor presented his report and was recorded in the GC. There was a concern about members not communicating any scientific paper.

6. Report of the Web Coordinator

Web Coordinator, Prof. L. Jeyaseelan presented his report. He emphasized that web updating was smooth throughout the year. The GC appreciated the help of Web Coordinator Prof. Jeyaseelan and his team and approved the report.

7. Report of the Awards Committee

Prof. R M Pandey, Chairman of the Awards Committee prepared his recommendations (in consultation with members) and presented to the GC. Based on the above recommendations, names of the award winners for given below:

1. Prof. B.G. Prasad Award

Dr.Geetha Menon, Scientist, ICMR-NIMS, New Delhi

2. Prof. K.R. Sundaram Young Research Scholar Award

Ms.Amitha Puranik, MAHE, Manipal

GC approved Award Committee recommendations.

8. Report of the Nominating Committee

Prof. Ajit Sahai, Chairman of the nomination Committee presented his report to Governing Council.

ISMS- Nominations received by Nominating Committee before the last date prescribed – 30th October, 2020, against the positions of President-elect for the two-years term 2021-2022 there were 3 applicants and committee could not finalise and hence requested GC to decide further action plan. The applicants are

The Position	Nominee		
President	1) Prof V K Srivastava, Director-Principal,		
-elect	PIMS, Lucknow		
	2) Prof S N Dwivedi		
	Dept. of Biostatistics, AllMS, New Delhi		
	3) Prof R M Pandey		
	Dept. of Biostatistics, AllMS, New Delhi		

GC debated and decided to refer to the general body.

The **two (2)** Governing Council (GC) members nominated for three years term 2021- 2023 are Prof.C.M.Singh, AllMS, Patna, Bihar and Dr.SB Singh, RIMS, Ranchi and GC approved.

9. Search committee report

Search Committee Recommendations – 2020 (for 3 awards under its purview).

Name of the	ISMS Fellow	Consent of the
Award	identified and	nominee
	recommended for the	
	Award	
1. Life Time	Professor K	Received
Achievement	Srinivasan,	
Award	Former DG – IIPS,	
	Mumbai.	
2. Professor S K	Dr. N K Tyagi,	Received
Bhattacharya	Professor & Head,	
Oration	Dept. of Epidemiology	
	& Biostatistics,	
	KLE University,	
	Belgaum	
3. Smt. Ramrati	Professor V K	Received
Lalima Sahai	Srivastava,	
Award	Principal - Prasad	
	Institute of Medical	
	Sciences, Lucknow	

10.FSMS committee report

President, Chairman of the FSMS committee submitted the recommendations for 2019 FSMS awardees as follows

1. Prof. R.Ravanan, Regional Joint Director Department of Higher Education, Govt. of TN, Chennai

11. Arrangement for 2020 annual conference

General Secretary and coordinators of various committees briefed the GC various arrangements for the conference. GC appreciated the efforts taken in short notice.

12. Thanking the retiring functionaries, EC members and welcoming the incoming President

5

President thanked the retiring EC members and welcomed the incoming President who will

take charge on January 1, 2021.

The EC thanked the outgoing President Prof.P.Venkatesan for the outstanding tenure.

13. Any other point with the permission of the chair

Based on the concerns and discussion of GC members on the awards and nominations

benchmarks, President Prof. P Venkatesan appointed a committee with chairs of all three

committees- Award, Nomination and Search- as members and requested to formulate a

criteria/ guideline and submit to the society for amendment.

14. Vote of thanks by General Secretary

General Secretary proposed the vote of thanks to all the participating members of

the meeting.

General Secretary

Smer N.

Dated: 2-02-2021